June 6, 2020

Members All,

We send you greetings from the Connecticut Elks Association Fundraising Committee. We have been asked by President Sabio to reach out to all the Lodges, introduce ourselves and share the goals of the committee. Our committee consists of Suzanne Novaco PER, Joann Donnel PDD and Sharon Stewart. The three of us will be reaching out through the year and we are always available for any questions or ideas you may have. 

We all know due to the Covid 19 Pandemic that fundraising will be a challenge this year at both the State level as well as your Lodge level. It is our goal as the Connecticut Elks Fundraising Committee to work with the Lodges so our State can work together to reach the goal of $100,000 to CCMC. 

Our first fundraiser of the year is a reminder. Many of you shop on Amazon and it is our hope that we can ask you to support Connecticut Elks Association Charities Inc. by shopping at smile.amazon.com. Your existing Amazon account can easily link up to the smile account. 

Everyone has events that are right around the corner and this is the perfect time to turn your shopping into a force for good. Shop at Smile.amazon.com/ch/47-4980476 and Amazon donates to Connecticut Elks Association Charities Inc. It is so simple for all of us to support our Connecticut Elks Association Charities Inc. on a regular basis while doing something we love.

It is our hope that through the year, working together and trying some new fundraising ideas, our State will reach our goal to CCMC. 


Connecticut Elks Association Charities Inc.
Sharon Stewart
Joann Donnel PDD
Suzanne Novaco PER

May 14, 2020

The deadlines to purchase CT Elks Association Shirts and Pins has been extended indefinitely.  They will be delivered at the next available in-person meeting for the state.  

Click on the item below to download the form to make your purchase.  

by SDGER Ricard M. Palanzo
April 30, 2020

I received official notice that Mike Stewart has been appointed as the new Region #6 Director of the Elks national Free Throw Program.

Ronald Michael “Mike” Stewart, is a PDDGER and a Vice-President of the CT Elks Assn. He also serves as a Grand Lodge Special Representative; the coach/counselor for the Rockville, CT Lodge#1359, a task he has been performing for several years. Mike is anticipated to be State President in the 2021-2022 Lodge Year.  

Mike and his wife, Sharon (who is also an Elk) are very dedicated to our Order and the Elks Hoop Shoot in particular. Mike has been CT’s State Hoop Shoot Director for many years, succeeding John Podbielski, PDDGER from New Britain #957. In his new role Mike will coordinate the activities of the New England State’s Hoop Shoot Directors and will preside over the Hoop Shoot finals for New England Region #6.

The Elks Hoop Shoot is a Free Throw Program for Youth Ages 8-13. For nearly 50 years, the Hoop Shoot has been developing good sportsmanship in kids. Only four Elk members have served as Region #6 Director before Mike. Those members were/are: James L. Colbert, Harry Mullen, Walter Kettelle {(Judy) of South Kingstown, R.I. Lodge #1899} and Richard P. Blinn {(Cynthia) of Haverhill, MA Lodge # 165}.

Mike will be officially installed at the Grand Lodge convention in Baltimore July 2020. 

Please join me in congratulating Ronald Michael “Mike” Stewart and wish him well in his new position as Region #6 Director of the Elks National Free Throw Contest.

February 24, 2020
Dave Acanfora, PSP, PDD

The CT Elks Association is joining the Super Plungers on Sunday, March 29 for the FINAL PLUNGE!  Join us in supporting Special Olympics Connecticut athletes and celebrating our brave Super Plungers. Want to help?  Support by making a donation at https://www.classy.org/279217. The process is fast, easy, and secure... and you can be sure that it will benefit a great cause!

Good Afternoon Everyone,
With the concern of COVID-19 and our members and future members health and welfare, I think it is best if I postpone State President's Night to a future date TBA. Please consider still attending the future date when we are all safe from the virus.  
This was a difficult but no so difficult decision for me to make. As always, it is all of our best interest to keep our families, lodges and our  members safe from harms way.
Mike Bonini 
State President
Connecticut Elks Association



February 15, 2020
Kathleen Ackerman PDD
Vice President Central

Join CEA State President Michael Bonini PDD for State President's Night on March 21, 2020.  The event will be held at the Wallingford Lodge begining at 6:300 pm.  This event features a special initiation in honor of President Bonini.  

RSVP to Kathleen Ackerman PDD at or (860)-301-3198 by March 9th with the number of persons, including candidates, that will be attending.